Saturday, July 13, 2024
HomeYogaYoga 101: The Eight Limbs

Yoga 101: The Eight Limbs

This entry was posted on Might 8, 2024 by Charlotte Bell.

Some time again, I posted a weblog that sketched out a really fundamental define of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. After all, we will’t presumably seize the essence of the sutras in a single weblog put up, or perhaps a collection of them. It’s finest once we digest them over time. And it’s even higher once we contemplate them within the context of our personal lives. At the moment’s put up will define the Eight Limbs of Yoga.

The sutras are divided into 4 padas (chapters). The second pada is the one which yoga lecturers and practitioners most frequently confer with. It is because the second pada contains the Eight Limbs of Yoga. The Eight Limbs present a scaffolding for the entire system of yoga, in response to the sutras.

Whereas the sutras record the limbs in a selected order, they don’t seem to be hierarchical. They’re not like a ladder with eight steps. As an alternative, all of the limbs feed into the entire, sort of just like the limbs on a tree. Training any one of many limbs helps all of the others.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

Right here’s a brief synopsis of the limbs:

  1. Yama: Yama means “restraint.” The yamas are moral or ethical precepts for residing peacefully on this planet. They embrace ahimsa (non-harming), satya (truthfulness), asteya (non-stealing), brahmacharya (clever use of sexual vitality), and aparigraha (non-greed).
  2. Niyama: The niyamas are private practices that assist us create a wholesome basis for our each day lives. They embrace saucha (cleanliness), santosha (contentment), tapas (vitality or dedication to observe), svadhyaya (self-study and research of inspiring texts) and isvara pranidhana (dedicating our observe to one thing bigger than ourselves).
  3. Asana: That is the limb we most frequently affiliate with yoga—the bodily postures.
  4. Pranayama: Pranayama is the observe of controlling and increasing the breath.
  5. Pratyahara: The most typical description of this limb is “withdrawal from the senses.” I interpret it as a refinement of our relationship with our senses.
  6. Dharana: Dharana is focus. It’s the gathering of the thoughts onto a single object.
  7. Dhyana: Dhyana is meditation. It’s the power of thoughts to remain current it doesn’t matter what we’re experiencing via our senses.
  8. Samadhi: Samadhi is the utterly settled, expansive thoughts.

That is only a bite-sized description of the framework for yoga observe. Any of the limbs—and even any a part of the limbs, say one of many yamas—may very well be fodder for years of observe.

For those who’re serious about studying extra, my e book Conscious Yoga, Conscious Life: A Information for On a regular basis Observe, outlines the Eight Limbs and goes into element about every one. There are additionally ideas for tactics to observe every one.

About Charlotte Bell

Charlotte Bell found yoga in 1982 and commenced instructing in 1986. Charlotte is the creator of Conscious Yoga, Conscious Life: A Information for On a regular basis Observe and Yoga for Meditators, each revealed by Rodmell Press. Her third e book is titled Hip-Wholesome Asana: The Yoga Practitioner’s Information to Defending the Hips and Avoiding SI Joint Ache (Shambhala Publications). She writes a month-to-month column for CATALYST Journal and serves as editor for Yoga U On-line. Charlotte is a founding board member for GreenTREE Yoga, a non-profit that brings yoga to underserved populations. A lifelong musician, Charlotte performs oboe and English horn within the Salt Lake Symphony and folks sextet Pink Rock Rondo, whose DVD received two Emmy awards in 2010.


Most Popular

Recent Comments